• a VALID PASSPORT (more than 6 months of validity),

Additional requirements vary according to nationality and are subject to change. Citizens from certain countries need a tourist card, others need an authorized visa, others a stamped visa and some only need a passport. To know if you require a visa depending on your nationality you are recommended to check with a Panamanian Consulate, Embassy or ticketing agents for airlines that fly to Panama to obtain the most updated and accurate information.

Citizens of the following countries only need a passport to enter Panama: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Singapore, Taiwan, and the United States.

It is important to note, however, that this list may change. Check with your home embassy for the current requirements before travelling.

Citizens of other countries need a visa. There are two types of visas to enter Panama: “stamped visas” and “authorized visas.”

The so-called “stamped visas” allow some travelers to enter Panama several times throughout the year. This type of visa is only available through a Panamanian embassy or consulate, and Panamanian authorities will decide the length of the stay, which is usually 30 days per visit. Anyone who is eligible to visit Panama on a tourist card can apply for a stamped visa instead, although citizens of some countries are required to have a stamped visa. These countries include the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Georgia, Peru, Russia, Ukraine, Vietnam, and Zimbabwe.

As with many other things in Panamanian officialdom, this list is subject to change.

Citizens of some countries are required to have an “authorized visa,” the most restrictive type of tourist visa. Like the stamped visa, this kind is only available through a Panamanian consulate or embassy. The officials will choose to either approve or decline the visa application, and will determine the length of stay. These countries include, but are not limited to: Bangladesh, Cuba, Haiti, India, Pakistan, China, and South Africa, although the list is subject to change. The requirements may vary according to the consulate, so it’s a good idea to double check before beginning the application process.

Most visitors get to Panama by plane. Panama’s main international airport is Tocumen International Airport (Aeropuerto Internacional de Tocumen), which is 25 kilometers (15 mi) east of Panama City. The international aviation code for Tocumen Airport is PTY.

Please check with a Panamanian Consulate, Embassy or ticketing agents of airlines flying to Panama to obtain the most updated and accurate information.
The following has been provided as a general guide to prospect volunteers. TeachPTY is not responsible for any mishaps resulting from the use of this information. Each volunteer is responsible for meeting custom requirements to enter Panama.